Justin's

Ingredients & Allergens

Ingredients & Allergens
  • Why does my Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup say "contains milk" when there are no milk products in the ingredients?

    Even though there are no milk ingredients added in our delicious Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups and the recipe has not changed, we did update our labels a few years ago. Our new labels now indicate “contains trace amounts of milk” because they are processed on shared equipment with our Milk Chocolate and White Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups, which do contain dairy. While there is a sanitation process between each batch, the reason we made this change is two-fold, both deriving from our company’s primary fundamental – safety.
    Justin’s is very careful about choosing and selecting only the highest quality chocolatiers to source not only our dark chocolate but all of the chocolate used in our products. However, it is common practice for the chocolate industry to process cocoa beans on shared equipment with milk containing ingredients. So, while we are extremely careful, the chance of cross-contact exists even before we purchase the chocolate. 
    In addition to sourcing the highest-quality chocolate, we use the best manufacturing practices for safety and quality. Because our Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups share equipment with our Milk Chocolate and White Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups, which do contain dairy, the opportunity for cross contact as we manufacture the peanut butter cups at our facilities also exists. We felt this precautionary message may help our friends who are extremely sensitive to dairy .

     
  • Are the almond and hazelnut butter jars, squeeze packs and snack packs free of peanut cross-contamination?

    Although we do not add peanuts or soy into our almond or hazelnut butters, you will soon see a “contains traces of.. due to shared equipment” statement disclosed on the label because they are produced on machinery that processes peanuts, various tree nuts and soy ingredients for other products. While there is an extensive sanitation process between each batch, the reason we are making this change is due to our company’s primary fundamental – safety. Our prior and current labels similarly disclose the possibility of cross-contamination.

    Justin’s has chosen to partner with several world-class facilities to produce our high-quality products. Due to high demand, these facilities also process other products containing peanuts, various tree nuts and soy products.

     

  • Are your products gluten free?

    Our NEW Peanut Butter + Banana Chip Snack Packs are also certified by the GFCO with a certification stamp displayed on the packaging, however, it is made on shared equipment with our our Nut Butter + Pretzel Snack Packs, which contain wheat-based pretzels paired with our nut butters.
    ​Our Nut Butter + Pretzel Snack Packs launched early in 2016 with a “New Wheat Pretzels” flag on the front of the packaging. The gluten free certification stamp has been removed from the label and the ingredient ledger explicitly calls out wheat as an allergen. Additionally, the tray is now transparent. See this updated packaging here.

     
  • Is there alcohol in the Vanilla ingredient used in Justin's products?

    The vanilla extract that we use is an organic vanilla powder. Vanilla powder is produced by spray-drying pure vanilla extract onto a carrier. The powder is made from vanilla extract, which is where alcohol is used. The heat used during the spray drying process burns off almost all of the alcohol, however there may be trace amounts.

     
  • What is the source of your honey powder? Is it pasteurized?

    The honey is spray dried, which usually means that it is brought up to 200°F to create a powder. The pasteurization temperature would be 140°F for a certain amount of time depending on the water activity. During this process, sugar is added to the powder to enhance the sweetness.